Floridas Turnpike Enterprise
Traveler Tools
» Real-time Traffic Updates
» Interchanges (Exits) and Mileage
» Service Plazas
» Paying Tolls
» Toll Violations
» Toll Rates
» Traffic Management Center
» Dynamic Message Signs
» Highway Advisory Radio
» Park & Ride Lots
» Hurricane Evacuations
» State Farm Safety Patrol
» Motorist Assistance Guide
» System Description and Maps

Traveler Information
Toll Violations

Florida Statute 338.155 requires you to pay a toll if you drive on any toll road or bridge in the state.  Failure to pay your toll is a moving violation, per section 316.1001 F.S. and failure to comply with this statute may result in the assessment of a $100 or more civil penalty, assessment of court costs, and suspension of your vehicle registration and/or suspension of your driver's license.

Tolls may be paid with cash, or with such prepaid accounts as SunPass, E-Pass or LeeWay. Your prepaid account must contain adequate funds to ensure you can pay your toll at the time you travel through the lane, just as cash customers do. 

Electronic Enforcement:
SunPass captures the image of your license plate as you travel through the lane.  If a transponder is not read and your plate is not listed on an active prepaid account, an unpaid toll document will be mailed to you.  Proper mounting and maintenance of the transponder, as well as keeping the correct plates updated in the account is the responsibility of the account holder.

If you missed a toll and are not a SunPass account holder:
If you are not a SunPass, E-Pass or LeeWay account holder and find yourself in an unattended, dedicated SunPass lane, please continue through the toll plaza. Do not stop and back up, as it is unsafe.

Payment for the toll is still required. Make checks or money orders payable to FDOT Turnpike Enterprise and include the following information: your name, license plate number, vehicle plate information, date & time of occurrence and plaza name or mile marker. (DO NOT SEND CASH.) 

You need to mail the toll amount within 10 days to:
Florida's Turnpike Enterprise
P.O. Box 310
Ocoee, FL, 34761 

If you missed a toll and are a SunPass account holder:
Receipt of an unpaid toll document requires your immediate attention.  One or more of the following may be occurring; license plate(s) information needs to be updated, transponder is not mounted or mounted incorrectly, there are insufficient funds or no funds available on the account to pay the toll, the credit card on file has expired or you’ve changed bank accounts, your transponder needs a new battery (if applicable) or is no longer operable and needs replacement.

To resolve this matter:

  • Pay online through your SunPass account.  Simply login to your account and let the Pay Documents feature guide you through the process.
  • Pay using cash at an authorized merchant. Visit sunpass.com for a location near you.
  • Pay with a credit/debit card by phone by calling 1-888-824-8655 to speak with a SunPass Specialist. 


If you missed a toll in an unattended cash lane:
Florida's Turnpike understands that sometimes you may not have exact change at an unattended exact change toll lane. Payment for the toll is still required. Make checks or money orders payable to FDOT Turnpike Enterprise and include the following information: your name, license plate number vehicle plate information, date & time of occurrence and plaza name or mile marker. (DO NOT SEND CASH) 

You need to mail the payment within 10 days to:
Florida's Turnpike Enterprise
P.O. Box 310
Ocoee, FL, 34761 

If you were issued an unpaid toll notice receipt at the toll plaza and either lost your receipt, or, would like to check on the status of your payment, please call 407-264-3164.

Please keep proof of payment. Depending on the date we receive your payment, some lag time may occur and an unpaid toll document may still be generated. Keep your payment information handy to assist in closing out the document.

If you are driving a rental car and missed a toll:
If you have traveled through a SunPass-only lane and were driving a rental vehicle at the time of the missed toll, please contact the rental car company directly to report the missed toll and to learn their policy on toll violations. 
If you have not signed up for PlatePass®,Pass24®, eToll, or TollPass program with your rental agency, you need to contact your agency immediately to resolve the issue. If you have signed up for PlatePass®,Pass24®, eToll, or TollPass program, the rental agency will identify the rental vehicle by the license plate and use that information to electronically collect the toll. Rental agencies will assess the fees agreed to in your rental agreement to collect the toll.

SunPass customers using a rental vehicle may have their tolls applied to their SunPass account. Customers with SunPass Portable transponders may use their transponders in their rental vehicles. (It is strongly recommended that SunPass customers access their SunPass accounts online or contact the SunPass Customer Service Center to add the rental vehicle subscription to their account for the rental period.) If the transponder is not in your vehicle or functioning properly, tolls from other agencies will not be posted to your SunPass account, and may be charged to you by the Rental Service Provider. Please remember to remove your transponder upon return of the vehicle.

SunPass customers that do not have their transponders in the vehicle are subject to the tolls, fees and charges set forth in their rental agreements.

Penalties for Noncompliance:
An Unpaid Toll Violation or TOLL-BY-PLATE Invoice is mailed to the registered owner of the motor vehicle at the time of the violation and as listed in the records maintained by The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles while in accordance with Florida Statute 316.1001.  An Unpaid Toll Violation or TOLL-BY-PLATE Invoice includes the toll(s) amount owed and a $2.50 Administrative Fee. 

You have 30 days in which to submit payment in full and close the document.  If payment is not received within 30 days, a second document will be mailed.  The second document includes toll(s) due from the first document, any new toll(s) incurred and the Administrative Fee for each document of $2.50.  You have 30 days in which to submit payment in full and close the second document.  Failure to submit payment in full by the due date stipulated on the second document may result in the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Citation.

It is extremely important to keep your address information updated as required by law; Driver License address must be updated within 10 days of the change, per Florida Statute 322.19(1).  Registration address must be updated within 20 days of the change, per Florida Statute 320.02(4).  If you are planning to sell your vehicle it is important that you remove the license plate or transfer it immediately to the new registered owner as required by law; Florida Statute 320.0609(2)(a). Failure to update your information will not release you from the liability of any unpaid tolls.

When payment is not received by the due date and a Uniform Traffic Citation is issued, the citation is mailed by first-class mail to the address of the registered owner of the motor vehicle involved in the violation.   Mailing the citation to such address constitutes notification; Florida Statute 316.1001(2) (b). 

Upon issuance of a citation you have 30 days, as indicated in Option A on the citation to resolve directly with SunPass before it is filed with the Clerk of Courts.  If the citation is not resolved with SunPass by the due date listed under Option A, it is then transmitted to the court.  The Clerks of Court provide you 75 days to resolve the citation, either by submitting payment as indicated in Option B on the citation or by requesting a hearing to contest the violation, as indicated in Option C on the citation.  Failure to select an Option or path of resolution may result in license suspension, court imposed late fees, higher fines and penalties.  SunPass/Florida Department of Transportation does not have the ability to waive any fines, penalties or late fees imposed by the Clerk of Courts.

If you believe you have received an unpaid toll document in error, please contact SunPass violations  via email or at the phone number listed on the document you received.

You may pay a document on-line via credit/debit card, or you can pay via cash at nearly 2,000 retail locations around the state as long as you have all of the information on the violation document with you. Visit http://www.touch-n-buy.com/sunpass or http://www.tollbyplate.com/cash to find a location near you.

Florida Highway Patrol and Office of Motor Carrier Compliance Enforcement:
In addition to electronic enforcement, Florida Highway Patrol or other law enforcement agencies may also conduct random toll enforcement activities at SunPass lanes.